Posted: 2020-12-16

Dr. Lucia Nappi (MD, PhD) has received a 2020 Tad Smith & Caroline Fitzgibbons-PCF Young Investigator Award for her project "Uncovering Lineage Plasticity in the Context of Specific Genomic Alterations in High Risk Prostate Cancer."

Dr. Gleave
Posted: 2020-12-08

Dr. Martin Gleave has been elected to the rank of National Academy of Inventors Fellow. The NAI Fellows Selection Committee inducts as Fellows those who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on the quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society. We congratulate him on this prestigious recognition.

Posted: 2020-11-23

Drs. Yuzhuo Wang and Alex Wyatt are each on a team receiving the Prostate Cancer Foundation 2020 Challenge Awards.  The titles of their projects are below, and more information can be found at PCF's announcement

Posted: 2020-11-16

Dr. Artem Cherkasov is co-PI on two CFI Exceptional Opportunity Fund grants awarded November 2020.

Ninadh D’Costa
Posted: 2020-11-06

Ninadh D’Costa, PhD student in Dr. Alan So's lab, was awarded the Kidney Cancer Research Network of Canada (KCRNC)-SOPER Foundation Grant for her project titled “Identification and validation of a comprehensive gene signature to determine treatment response and guide precision oncology on patients with metastatic clear-cell renal cell carcinoma”.

Dr. Daksh Thaper
Posted: 2020-11-02

Dr. Daksh Thaper has been awarded the prestigious Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs Early Investigator Research Award. He has received funding for his project, "Characterizing and targeting the interplay between transcription factor BRN2 and SWI/SNF chromatin remodeling complex in small cell neuroendocrine prostate cancer." Dr. Thaper is a postdoctoral fellow (PDF) in Dr. Amina Zoubeidi's lab.

Posted: 2020-09-24

Two CIHR Project Grants have been awarded to researchers at our Centre.

Dr YZ Wang and his co-applicants Drs Ci, He and Lin were the recipients of a four-year CIHR Project Grant (Spring 2020 competition) for their proposal, "The role of PRDM16 in neuroendocrine prostate cancer development and aggressiveness."

Posted: 2020-09-08

Three researchers at our Centre have received Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research 2020 awards.

Dr. Faraz Hach received a Scholar Award for his project "Computational Methods For Monitoring The Evolution Of Tumours."

Posted: 2020-06-25

An international consortium of researchers led by our Centre's Dr. Artem Cherkasov and by Dr. François Jean, Associate Professor in UBC’s Faculty of Science, Department of Microbiology and Immunology is receiving $2.1 million from CIHR for their project "Computer-aided discovery of synergistic drug combinations with Remdevisir for COVID-19 through mechanism-based drug repurposing and combinatorial organoid screening", which will use artificial intelligence to search for SARS-CoV-2 inhibitors among known drugs.

Posted: 2020-06-24

Dr. Alex Wyatt has been awarded a Canadian Cancer Society Impact Grant for his project, "Practical genomic stratification to enable tailored treatment of DNA repair defective prostate cancer." This five-year project will screen blood samples from metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer patients across Canada in order to identify the subset whose tumours are defective in specific classes of DNA damage repair. These patients will be selectively treated on the basis of their results, using chemotherapy or immunotherapy.

A World Class Centre

The Vancouver Prostate Centre (VPC) has a track record of success that has earned it a reputation as one of the world’s most respected cancer facilities. It is a National Centre of Excellence and a designated Centre of Excellence for Commercialization and Research.


Work at the Vancouver Prostate Centre

Wednesday, September 8, 2021

Recent publication proposes a potential new therapeutic approach to treatment-resistant prostate cancer

Tuesday, August 3, 2021

Dr. Cherkasov receives 2021 Faculty of Medicine Distinguished Achievement Award

Dr. Cherkasov